Nominations for the 2022 Australian Biosecurity Awards (ABAs) are now open.

The ABAs provide important recognition for biosecurity champions across industry, government and the public, who have made a significant contribution towards safeguarding our nation from pests and diseases.

Innovation and research are crucial in managing current and emerging biosecurity threats.

Last year, Plant Health Australia CEO Sarah Corcoran received an award for her dedication to biosecurity, including the delivery of eradication programs for agricultural and environmental pests. Pohlmans Nursery also received an award for contributing to the development of a national industry on-farm biosecurity system which improved the business’s productivity, quality and efficiency.

Many ABA winners have worked hard to educate the next generation of biosecurity-aware Australians, from schools and universities to community engagement. Last year, a university professor received an award for her dedication to educating university students in plant biosecurity, with many of those students later entering the plant biosecurity field.

There are eight award categories, including:

  • Dr David Banks Biosecurity Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Dr Kim Ritman Award for Science and Innovation
  • Industry Award
  • Government Award
  • Environmental Biosecurity Award
  • Community Award
  • Education Award
  • Farm Biosecurity Producer of the Year Award β€” jointly presented with Animal Health Australia and Plant Health Australia.

Nominations close 22 August 2022.

Click here to nominate!