Gold Coast, Queensland – South Australian vegetable grower Thang Hoang Le, affectionately known as ‘Aussie Kev’, has been presented with the AUSVEG Young Grower of the Year Award, proudly sponsored by Dow AgroSciences, at this evening’s 2016 National Awards for Excellence Gala Dinner.

“Aussie Kev is a well-respected figure in the South Australian vegetable industry who is very active in representing young growers and getting them involved in research and development,” said AUSVEG National Marketing Manager Nathan McIntyre.

“He is also a leader in Integrated Pest Management, a technique that involves using beneficial insects to manage pests.”

The Young Grower of the Year Award is supported by Dow AgroSciences, which is a leading provider of horticultural products and services in Australia and works towards developing the growth of the Australian horticulture sector.

The award is presented to a vegetable or potato grower who has applied excellent business acumen and innovation on-farm, while also demonstrating a high level of commitment to the wider industry, and participating in industry groups and community activities.

“In addition to his work within his business, Aussie Kev participates on the Northern Adelaide Plains PIRSA Committee and has been proactive in mobilising political support for growers in his area and in facilitating joint R&D projects. He continues to demonstrate a high level of commitment to agriculture and people outside his business,” said Mr McIntyre.

“I congratulate Kev on his award and his commitment to the improvement of our industry. The Australian horticulture industry needs more young people involved, and it is important that we recognise the achievements of young growers such as Kev to ensure we foster our next generation of leaders.”

AUSVEG is the leading horticultural body representing Australia’s 9,000 vegetable and potato growers.

The 2016 National Awards for Excellence Gala Dinner was held at RACV Royal Pines on the Gold Coast on Saturday 25 June, and honoured growers and other members of the Australian vegetable, potato, apple and pear industries for outstanding achievements in their respective fields. The dinner was the capstone event for the 2016 National Horticulture Convention which attracted around 1,500 local and international delegates.

For official photos of the awards ceremony, please contact the AUSVEG media contact below.

MEDIA CONTACT: Shaun Lindhe, National Manager – Communications, AUSVEG

Phone: (03) 9882 0277, Mob: 0405 977 789, Email: