VegNET

VegNET has been set up by Horticulture Innovation Australia (Hort Innovation) and the vegetable industry to effectively communicate vitally important research-based information to Australian vegetable growers. It may surprise you to know just how much information has been produced by current and already completed vegetable R&D projects:
  • The Australian vegetable industry and Hort Innovation has funded 235 separate research or development projects over the past 10 years;
  • There are more than 600 R&D outputs currently available on the AUSVEG InfoVeg website (ausveg.com.au/infoveg), as well as relevant outputs from other horticultural industries, R&D from the private sector and international scientific literature;
  • A recent review of vegetable industry extension materials identified and reviewed nearly 300 extension resources including facts sheets, ute guides, books, CDs and DVDs, websites and posters.

How it works

Regional projects: The lifeblood of VegNET flows from 10 regionally-based extension projects. The regional extension projects and the leaders’ contact details are listed in the table below. This project has been funded by Horticulture Innovation Australia Limited using the research and development National vegetable levy and funds from the Australian Government. For more information about the project nationally, see the AHR website.
Region Industry Development Officer Email
Bowen Gumlu and FNQ Cherry Emerick idm@bowengumlugrowers.com.au
Wide Bay Burnett Bree Grima bree.grima@bfvg.com.au
Lockyer Valley Pat Salter ido@lockyervalleygrowers.com.au
NSW Bill Dixon bill.dixon@lls.nsw.gov.au
Leigh James leigh.james@lls.nsw.gov.au
Matthew Plunkett matthew.plunkett@lls.nsw.gov.au
Western Australia Truyen Vo truyen.vo@vegetableswa.com.au
Northern Territory Greg Owens greg@ntfarmers.org.au
Samantha Tocknell ido@ntfarmers.org.au
South Australia Hannah McArdle hannah.mcardle@ausveg.com.au
Tasmania Emma Egan emmae@rmcg.com.au
East Gippsland Shayne Hyman shayne.hyman@eastgippslandfoodcluster.com.au
Victoria – Northern, Western and South Eastern Carl Larson (South-Eastern region) carll@rmcg.com.au
Clinton Muller (Western region) clintonm@rmcg.com.au
Ken Orr (Northern region) ken.orr54@bigpond.com