VegNET

VegNET has been set up by Hort Innovation and the vegetable industry to effectively communicate vitally important research-based information to Australian vegetable growers.

It may surprise you to know just how much information has been produced by current and already completed vegetable R&D projects:
  • The Australian vegetable industry and Hort Innovation has funded 235 separate research or development projects over the past 10 years;
  • There are more than 600 R&D outputs currently available on the InfoVeg database, as well as relevant outputs from other horticultural industries, R&D from the private sector and international scientific literature;
  • A recent review of vegetable industry extension materials identified and reviewed nearly 300 extension resources including facts sheets, ute guides, books, CDs and DVDs, websites and posters.

How it works

Regional projects: The lifeblood of VegNET flows from 10 regionally-based extension projects. The regional extension projects and the leaders’ contact details are listed in the table below. For more information about the project nationally, see the AHR website.
This project has been funded by Hort Innovation, using the vegetable research and development levy and contributions from the Australian Government. Hort Innovation is the grower-owned, not-for-profit research and development corporation for Australian horticulture.
Region Industry Development Officer Email
Bowen Gumlu and FNQ Cherry Emerick idm@bowengumlugrowers.com.au
Wide Bay Burnett Michelle Haase michelle.haase@bfvg.com.au
Bree Grima bree.grima@bfvg.com.au
Lockyer Valley Pat Salter ido@lockyervalleygrowers.com.au
NSW Bill Dixon bill.dixon@lls.nsw.gov.au
Matthew Plunkett matthew.plunkett@lls.nsw.gov.au
Western Australia Truyen Vo truyen.vo@vegetableswa.com.au
Samantha Grubisa sam.grubisa@vegetableswa.com.au
Northern Territory Greg Owens greg@ntfarmers.org.au
Samantha Tocknell ido@ntfarmers.org.au
South Australia Hannah McArdle hannah.mcardle@ausveg.com.au
Tasmania Emma Egan emmae@rmcg.com.au
Donna Lucas donnal@rmcg.com.au
East Gippsland Shayne Hyman shayne.hyman@eastgippslandfoodcluster.com.au
Victoria – Northern, Western and South Eastern Carl Larson (South-Eastern region) carll@rmcg.com.au
Clinton Muller (Western region) clintonm@rmcg.com.au
Ken Orr (Northern region) ken.orr54@bigpond.com
This project is funded by Horticulture Innovation Australia using the national vegetable research and development levy and funds from the Australian Government.