30 November 2020

AUSVEG, Australia’s peak industry body for the vegetable and potato industries, has welcomed the election of three new Directors to the Hort Innovation Board at its Annual General Meeting on Friday 27 November 2020.


Michael Nixon, former AUSVEG Grower Director from Carnarvon, Western Australia, was elected to the Hort Innovation Board, along with Tony Kelly and Victoria Taylor, who both have extensive experience in the horticulture sector.


Following the Annual General Meeting, Julie Bird was appointed as Hort Innovation Chair, with Paul Harker appointed as Deputy Chair.


AUSVEG Chair and vegetable grower from Victoria’s Gippsland region Bill Bulmer said that the election of three new Directors to the Hort Innovation Board, as well as the appointment of a new Chair and Deputy Chair, will be a refreshing change of leadership for the company as it looks to the future after such a turbulent year.


“It is heartening that such a strong pool of potential Directors was on offer to lead the horticulture industry’s research and development corporation, and I congratulate all new Directors on their elections,” said Mr Bulmer.


“We are particularly pleased to see Western Australian vegetable grower and former AUSVEG Director Michael Nixon successfully elected to the Board. Michael was a passionate, dedicated and knowledgeable member of AUSVEG’s Board and I am confident that he will continue his strong track-record of industry representation on Hort Innovation’s Board on behalf of all fruit and vegetable growers.”


“I would also like to thank outgoing Chair Selwyn Snell, Deputy Chair Dr Mary Corbett and outgoing Director Jenny Margetts for their hard work and dedication during their tenures on the Hort Innovation Board.”


“AUSVEG and Hort Innovation have enjoyed a fruitful relationship during Selwyn and Mary’s tenure as Chair and Deputy Chair and on behalf of the AUSVEG Board I wish them and Jenny well with their future endeavours and look forward to a constructive relationship with Julie, Paul and the rest of the Hort Innovation Board.”


“AUSVEG and Hort Innovation have a constructive relationship, which is important for growers as AUSVEG works with Hort Innovation to ensure grower levies are invested in meaningful, productive research and development to help grow the productivity and value of the industry.”



MEDIA CONTACT:  Shaun Lindhe, AUSVEG National Manager – Communications

Phone: 03 9882 0277, Mobile: 0405 977 789, Email: shaun.lindhe@ausveg.com.au