Three individuals from New South Wales have been recognised for their outstanding contributions and commitment to the horticulture industry by being nominated by their peers in four of the AUSVEG National Awards for Excellence categories.

The winners for each category will be announced on Saturday 29 May at the AUSVEG National Convention, Trade Show and Awards for Excellence being held at Conrad Jupiters Hotel-Casino on the Gold Coast.

The finalists from New South Wales are:

• Dan Trimboli from Pennant Hills; Industry Recognition Award proudly sponsored by DuPont

• Joe D’Anastasi from Glenorie; Grower of the Year proudly sponsored by Syngenta and Innovative Marketing supported by Brisbane Produce Market

• Len Tesoriero from Camden; Researcher of the Year proudly sponsored by Bayer CropScience

AUSVEG Chairman John Brent said he was overwhelmed by the number of nominations that were received.

“There are three outstanding finalists from New South Wales, each nominee being nominated for a different category, and one nominee put forward for two categories, which highlights the strength of the horticulture industry in that state,” said Mr Brent.

Almost 400 delegates are attending the National Awards for Excellence, which is set to be the highlight of the AUSVEG National Convention and has almost sold out.

“We would encourage people at this stage, to register to attend the National Award for Excellence Gala Dinner as there are very limited places left”.

“The National Awards for Excellence is sure to be the horticulture social event of the year and will be a great night to catch up with friends and recognise the achievements of all award finalists,” said Mr Brent.

AUSVEG is the national peak industry body representing the interests of around 9,000 vegetable and potato growers around Australia.

Media passes are available upon request. For more information about the AUSVEG National Convention and Awards for Excellence visit


Media Contact: Hugh Tobin, Communications Manager, AUSVEG
Ph: (03) 9822 0388, Mob: 0431 939 920, Email: