Victorian organic mushroom grower Chris McLoghin has again been recognised for his passion and commitment to the agriculture industry by winning the Kondinin Group and ABC Rural 2018 Young Australian Farmer of the Year at a ceremony held at Parliament House in Canberra on Tuesday 16 October 2018.

The award was presented as part of the 2018 Kondinin Group and ABC Rural Australian Farmer of the Year Awards, and follows his announcement as Young Grower of the Year at the Hort Connections 2018 National Awards for Excellence in June.

“Despite his relatively short time in the industry, Chris has proven himself as an innovative businessman and strong advocate for the Australian organic industry,” said AUSVEG CEO James Whiteside.

“Not only has Chris managed to expand his business and directly supply most major retailers with his produce, he has done so while being actively involved with organic industry associations.

“In addition to his work within his business and the organic industry, Chris has actively engaged with government and universities to facilitate the implementation of new technologies across all areas of the agriculture supply chain.

“The horticulture industry recognised Chris’ potential as a future industry leader earlier this year through the Young Grower of the Year Award presented at Hort Connections – it is pleasing to see Chris’ work also acknowledged by the wider agriculture industry.”

Chris was also acknowledged for his innovative and successful adoption of farming technologies by winning the 2018 Award for Excellence in Technology.

“Chris has a focus on discovering and adopting the latest innovations around the world to continue the improvement of his business. He is also a champion for encouraging the latest innovation and research into the wider industry, which sets a great example for his peers young and old alike,” said Mr Whiteside.

“The Australian agriculture industry needs more young people like Chris involved and it is important that we recognise their achievements to foster our next generation of leaders. Chris is a very worthy recipient of these prestigious awards and we look forward to seeing what the future has in store for him.”

Winners of the 2018 Kondinin Group and ABC Rural Australian Farmer of the Year Awards will take part in a Leadership Program supported by the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources.

This program is a one-day workshop aimed at leadership development within the agricultural industry that will allow award winners to develop their leadership capacity, grow industry networks and build their communication skills to represent the bright future of the industry.

MEDIA CONTACT: Shaun Lindhe, AUSVEG National Manager – Communications
Phone: (03) 9882 0277; Mobile: 0405 977 789; Email: