Note: The nomination process for Hort Connections 2018 has now closed. The list of nominees is available here. Thank you to everyone who contributed to help celebrate our industry!

The National Awards for Excellence recognise the outstanding contributions that individuals and companies make to the Australian industry and will be presented throughout Hort Connections 2018, including at the renowned Hort Connections Gala Dinner.

Nominations for the awards are now open and the nomination form can be downloaded here. This is a great opportunity to put someone forward to be recognised for the hard work they put in to their business and to helping our industry succeed, whether it’s your mate, your neighbour or someone else you admire in the industry.

Previous award winners have gone on to be recognised in the broader industry for their great work and their impact on the sector – for example, 2017 ABC Rural and Kondinin Group Australian Farmer of the Year Andrew Bulmer was celebrated as the 2011 AUSVEG Young Grower of the Year, and 2017 Rabobank Emerging Leader winner Nathan Free won the AUSVEG Young Grower of the Year award in 2014.

The awards span multiple categories so that we can identify and celebrate the work being done throughout all sectors of our industry, and several are sponsored by industry partners who look to support key values and practices:

  • Grower of the Year (sponsored by Syngenta) celebrates a grower who is outstanding across all aspects of production, who is innovative and who actively contributed to the broader industry.
  • Young Grower of the Year (sponsored by Corteva Agriscience, Agriculture Division of DowDuPont) celebrates the next generation of our industry and recognises a future leader who is committed to enhancing agriculture and the land.
  • Researcher of the Year (sponsored by Bayer) celebrates a researcher who is making a valuable impact on the future course of our industry.
  • Industry Impact (sponsored by Visy) celebrates an individual or business that has invested in creating or implementing a system outside the norm that adds value to their business.
  • Innovation Partner (sponsored by Boomaroo) celebrates a business that has delivered an innovation directly benefiting growers and has made a positive contribution to our industry.
  • Women in Horticulture (sponsored by Steritech) celebrates a female industry member who has demonstrated outstanding ability and success in their chosen field.
  • Community Stewardship (sponsored by E.E. Muir & Sons) celebrates an individual or business that is committed to the good of the broader community, including through going above and beyond in on-farm safety or engaging with the local community.
  • Environmental Award (sponsored by Butler Market Gardens) celebrates an individual who has demonstrated a commitment to implementing sustainable farming practices on-farm.
  • Exporter of the Year (sponsored by NAB Agribusiness) celebrates a grower who has demonstrated a strong commitment to exporting and who supports the broader industry in achieving its export goals.

These awards are a valuable chance for us to celebrate the individuals and companies who embody the values and the practices that make our industry great.

We encourage all industry members to put someone’s name forward to be recognised for their efforts – whether it’s exploring new best practice for soil management, connecting local school-kids with where their food comes from, or working to build strong networks and bonds throughout the industry so we can succeed together.

Download the nomination form here!

This post appeared in the AUSVEG Weekly Update published 13 March 2018.