At 6pm (AEDT) on 11 January 2021, the Victorian Government introduced a traffic light entry system into Victoria that allows Victoria to designate regions in other parts of Australia as ‘green’, ‘orange’ or ‘red’ zones, depending on the coronavirus (COVID-19) risk in a particular area.

Everyone entering Victoria must have a permit unless you are eligible for an exception or an exemption.

Agriculture workers who need to cross the border will be able to apply for a permit at, or contact Agriculture Victoria on 136 186 for further information.

The type of permit you need will depend on where you have been in the past two weeks.

Click here for the zones.

​If you have been in:

  • green zone, you will be able to apply for a permit and enter Victoria. Once in Victoria you should watch for symptoms and get tested should you feel unwell.​
  • An orange zone, you will be able to apply for a permit and will have to take a COVID-19 test within three days of your arrival in Victoria and isolate until you receive a negative test result.
  • red zone, you will only be able to apply for a permit as a permitted worker, or to transit through Victoria to another state or territory. You may also apply here for an exemption.
  • NSW-Victorian cross-border community. If you are a resident, you will be able to enter Victoria without a permit, but you must carry photo ID and proof of your address.​

Your permit must be valid at the time of travel. Conditions may change.

On Monday 18 January, the Victorian Government declared that only 10 Local Government Areas (LGA) in Greater Sydney will remain in the red zone.

The latest information and advice, including a description of the three zones, can be found at the Victorian Travel Permit System page.

Check the latest rules now and check again before you travel. You need to reapply if conditions change because your permit may no longer be valid.​

Please click on the links below for more state-specific information on COVID-19:


*This information was current at the time of writing at 3.30pm (AEDT) Tuesday 11 January 2021